“Almost like a real web site”

Search | Contact
News | e-News |
Rumour Mill | Stories
Foreign Language
in70mm.com auf Deutsch


Todd-AO Festival
KRRR! 7OMM Seminar
GIFF 70, Gentofte
Oslo 7OMM Festival
Widescreen Weekend

Premiere | Films
People | Equipment
Library | Cinemas
Todd-AO Projector
Distortion Correcting

Ultra Panavision 70
Super Panavision 70

Super Technirama 70
MCS 70 | DEFA 70
Dimension 150
Sovscope 70
ARRI 765 | Blow-up
35mm to 70mm
Blow-Up by title
IMAX | Cinema 180
Showscan | iWERKS
Various 70mm Films
Large Format Engagement
Chronological Order

Cinerama | Film
Archive | Remaster
Cinemiracle | Rama
Cinerama 360
Circle Vision 360
Realife | Grandeur
Natural Vision
Vitascope | Magnifilm
Early Large Format Films


France | Germany
Denmark | England
Australia | USA

6-Track Dolby Stereo
7OMM Projectors
People | Eulogy
65mm/70mm Workshop

• 2025 | 2024 | 2023
2022 | 2021 | 2020
2019 | 2018 | 2017
2016 | 2015 | 2014
2013 | 2012 | 2011
2010 | 2009 | 2008
2007 | 2006 | 2005
2004 | 2003 | 2002

2005 | 2004 | 2002
2001 | 2000 | 1999
1998 | 1997 | 1996
1995 | 1994 | PDF

in70mm.com Mission:
• To record the history of the large format movies and the 70mm cinemas as remembered by the people who worked with the films. Both during making and during running the films in projection rooms and as the audience, looking at the curved screen.
in70mm.com, a unique internet based magazine, with articles about 70mm cinemas, 70mm people, 70mm films, 70mm sound, 70mm film credits, 70mm history and 70mm technology. Readers and fans of 70mm are always welcome to contribute.

Disclaimer | Updates
Support us
Table of Content

Extracts and longer parts of in70mm.com may be reprinted with the written permission from the editor.
Copyright © 1800 - 2070. All rights reserved.

Visit biografmuseet.dk about Danish cinemas


Projection Team of the Year 2009: ABC/Odeon Bournemouth

The 70mm Newsletter
Written by: Dion Hanson. Images by Thomas Hauerslev, unless noted. Date: 15.12.2009
Darren Payne and his Projection Team: Ian MacPherson, John Pritchett & John Forster. Sir Sidney (right).

The Chief Darren Payne started his career at the Arts Centre Poole in 1987 working on both live stage performances and film presentations before moving in the following year to the A.B.C. in Southampton.

All too soon in 1989 the first Cannon multiplex opened and Darren transferred to this site staying there until a vacancy for the rank of Chief Projectionist became available at the prestigious ABC  Bournemouth.

In 1999 Darren decided on a major career change and left the A.B.C. to join Odeon. However, he neednít have bothered as just a few short months after Odeon & A.B.C. joined company. Darren then becoming Chief of both sites and is still there to this day.
More in 70mm reading:

Fellowship of the BKSTS for Paul Schofield
Steve Larcombe wins Frank Littlejohns Award 2009
The editor Receives BKSTS award

Internet link:

Cinema Technology

Cinema Technology Committee


The BKSTS (British Kinematograph Sound & Television Society) was founded in London, England in 1931 to serve the growing film industry. As well as meetings, presentations, seminars, international exhibitions and conferences, BKSTS also organizes an extensive programme of training courses, lectures, workshops and special events.

German Projectionist Forum
Sir Sidney is telling stories. He started in 1939 as a projectionist, at age 14.

The two sites have nine screens in total with seven projection boxes on different levels as well as different buildings. To run the two sites successfully requires both a dedicated and fit projection team. It is easy to assume that because there is a picture on the screen that everything behind the scenes is running smoothly and we all probably know of a cinema where the crew is anything but harmonious. But at Bournemouth they all work together as a true team, Darren has even stopped changing smocks as he flits between the ABC and the Odeon. The two sites are a joy for any engineer to work in, something not often found in an older conversion, plus every member of Darrenís team makes an excellent brew. I keep saying team but at this point we should name them, they are Darren Payne, Ian MacPherson, John Pritchett, John Forster. The two poor souls who got the short straw and are running the shows today are Bret Miley and Jarek Szczygiel.

I am pleased to now ask our President to make the initial award to Darren and his Team of the Year for 2009 from the ABC and Gaumont Bournemouth.
Go: back - top - back issues - news index
Updated 07-01-23